478-946-2222

Weapons Carry License

This office cannot provide direction or guidance on the ramifications of the “Constitutional Carry” legislation which is now in effect, other than to note that this legislation did not affect the issuance of Weapons Carry Licenses.

Weapons Carry License

Wilkinson County Probate Court issues firearms licenses, also known as “Georgia Weapons Carry License” as governed by O.C.G.A.§16-11-126 through 134. Applicants are encouraged to read the applicable law prior to making application to ensure a better understanding of your rights and responsibilities.  Applications will be accepted on Tuesday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am and 5:00 pm.  You must be a Wilkinson County resident and provide a valid photo ID which reflects your physical Wilkinson County address. The fee for application and fingerprint processing is $76.25 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and you may pay by credit, debit, money order, or personal check payable to the Probate Court. There is a service charge to pay with a credit/debit card. The license is valid for five (5) years, at which time you must reapply for a new license.

Be aware that prior Felony convictions and convictions for certain offenses will disqualify you from obtaining a firearms license. Some of those offenses include convictions arising out of domestic violence, weapons violations and drug related offenses, if you’ve not been free from supervision for at least five (5) years.

 

Save processing time by clicking below to complete your Weapons Carry License application. 

You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $76.25 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and a current Georgia issued photo ID that reflects your Wilkinson County address.  You will then be photographed, fingerprinted and the application process completed at that time and, if approved, you will receive your license in the mail within 2-3 weeks.